The Top 5 Winners of the Nobel Prize for Physics 2009 to 2013

  Winner Year Country
1 François Englert
Peter W. Higgs
2013 Belgium
United Kingdom
2 Serge Haroche
David J. Wineland
2012 Morocco
United States
3 Saul Perlmutter
Brian P. Schmidt
Adam G. Riess
2011 United States
United States
United States
4 Andre Geimr
Konstantin Novoselov
2010 Russia
5 Charles Kuen Kao
Willard S. Boyle
George E. Smith
2009 China
United States
Share on Social Media:
 Special Report
  1. Roy J. Glauber won for his "contribution to the quantum theory of optical coherence" and John L. Hall and Theodor W. Hänsch won for their "contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy."
  2. David J. Gross, H. David Politzer and Frank Wilczek won for their "discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction."
  3. Alexei Alexeevich Abrikosov, Vitaly Lazarevich Ginzburg and Anthony James Leggett won for their "pioneering contributions to the theory of superconductors and superfluids."
  4. Raymond Davis Jr. and Masatoshi Koshiba won for their "pioneering contributions to astrophysics, in particular for the detection of cosmic neutrinos" and Riccardo Giacconi won for his "pioneering contributions to astrophysics, which have led to the discovery of cosmic X-ray sources."
  5. Eric Allin Cornell, Wolfgang Ketterle, and Carl Edwin Wieman won for their "achievement of Bose-Einstein condensation in dilute gases of alkali atoms, and for early fundamental studies of the properties of the condensates."
Tags: Science & Technology, Prizes & Awards, The United States

Sources: Please visit the original source of the data here.

List Notes: In the case of more than one winner, the Nobel Prize is divided into equal amounts. Each winner receives their portion of 8,000,000 Swedish Kronor ($1.1 million U.S. dollars). "Country" is where the particular laureate was born.
Winners of the Nobel Prize for Physics 2009 to 2013

Related Top 5 Lists